Connected

Do I know you?

When Two Evangelists Collide

Posted by Gia Lyons on September 4, 2007

I was on a phone call this morning with my fellow evangelist, pal, and occassional mentor, Bill Hahn. He’s a SOA Evangelist, but he moonlights as a Social Software Evangelist.

Anyway, we were sharing with each other some stuff we’ve been working on lately, and it turns out that we will be able to reuse each others’ deliverables. Wonderful!

For the 30 or more minutes we were on the phone, it was hilarious, because we were both speaking so excitedly and passionately that you’d think we were having a contest as to who was MORE excited about social software (I would win, of course). The result was a cascade of new ideas, “a-ha!” moments, and otherwise general enlightenment, such that I started Sametiming him WHILE we were talking. While he was passionately discoursing over the phone, I was pinging him with my thoughts so as not to disrupt his flow. (It doesn’t hurt that I can type faster than I can think out loud.) Talk about multitasking…

I think that’s the first time that’s happened to me – simultaneously using two methods of real-time communication tools with just one other person. For someone like me who is an interminable interrupter, it was probably a nice experience for Bill, and I still got to get my thoughts out of my head before I lost them.

Hmmm…

I wonder if anyone uses a Sametime multi-way chat to collectively take meeting minutes during conference calls? I mean for those conference calls where you actually get something done, as opposed to a bunch of people yapping…

Leave a Reply

 
