Connected

Do I know you?

Why aren’t you blogging on an IBM Lotus product?

Posted by Gia Lyons on March 12, 2008

My prime directive is to communicate with as many people as possible. So, I picked an extremely well-known public blog service in order to reach as many people as possible out of the gate.

Also, I realized that, had I decided to blog on an IBM Lotus product, I would probably immediately lose many potential readers due to technoligious beliefs. And really, even though IBM funds my shoe addiction, I’m all about using the right tool for the job, the right tool for the purpose.

So sue me.

3 Responses to “Why aren’t you blogging on an IBM Lotus product?”

  1. Hi Gia, I see I really touched a nerve! I still don’t understand what the choice of service has to do with potential audience reach. It seems to me that the internet is the internet, and people can reach a blog regardless of where it is hosted, or what technology it is run on, provided they are pointed to the right URL, or that the content comes up in search engines. WordPress, Blogger, Moveable Type, Microsoft Spaces, BleedYellow’s Connections site, a hosted Domino server, or anything else.

    Anyway, thrilled to have you publicly blogging, and I hope a ton of people benefit from it.

  2. Gia Lyons said

    Hi Alan! Maybe I over-thought my choice. In true evangelist fashion, I want to reach the people out there who don’t “believe” yet, and I figured that selecting a neutral tool would be a better choice to that end.

    Also, WordPress was recommended to me as the best blogging tool out here for many reasons, so, there you go.

  3. albertbuendia said

    Congratulations, Gia.

    I’m Albert Buendía from Barcelona, Spain. I’m a Lotus Notes administrator in a pharmaceutical company. I’m also blogging on WordPress tool for the Spanish speakers. See you,

    http://albertbuendia.wordpress.com
    http://www.slug.es

Leave a Reply

 
