Connected

Do I know you?

Snowy St. Paddy’s Day in Minnesota, but it’s my anniversary anyway!

Posted by Gia Lyons on March 17, 2008

It’s snowing (whimper) this St. Patrick’s day in my backyard. I vaguely remember what spring looks like, and eagerly await its arrival. Thoroughly sick of looking at snirt.

Anyway, today, I have been married for seven years to my husband, Chris. Yay for us! There are a few of you who actually attended – or almost attended – our wedding on the beach on the East Side of Grand Cayman Island, and enjoyed the sweet air and people of the Cayman Dive Lodge (which looks to be on its way to “fully restored” after Hurricane Ivan all but obliterated it in 2004). Heck, we even met an IBMer on holiday there at the time.

I’d link to the pictures of all of us diving back in 2001 (no, we didn’t get married underwater), but I can’t find them on their site anymore. Here’s what you can see at the Dive Lodge. I remember seeing a spotted eagle ray (TOTALLY thought of the theme to Batman the whole time!), about six thousand spiny lobsters, lots of eels, blue tangs, etc etc etc. You know, the stuff you expect to find in gorgeous Caribbean waters. I, of course, completely missed the hammerhead that everyone else saw.

Stingray_cityI remember getting accosted by a small male stingray at Stingray City. That greedy little bugger was not content to let me simply feed him my handful of squid. NO. He had to beat me up for it first. The ray ladies knew the drill, though. Typical.

I also remember the dog, Lucky, who sat at our feet throughout most of our wedding ceremony. This dog had been run over by cars several times, but could still run and jump and play. Thus, his name. I took his presence as a good omen, and seven years later, I still feel lucky (awww!). We felt honored to include him in our wedding pictures.

So, today, as I watch the latest snowfall cover four months of yuck outside, I will be playing Legend and thinking of the day I got married.

(Hmmm. I see a dive trip in my future…)

Leave a Reply

 
