Connected

Do I know you?

About to start Snow Crash

Posted by Gia Lyons on April 1, 2008

I’m almost finished with The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde, one of my favorite authors – he has a shimmer of Terry Pratchett about him, but he’s definitely an original. Read all his stuff so far. If you’re nnew tto Fforde, I recommend the Thursday Next novels first, since the Nursery Crimes series is a spin-off.

Anyway, I’m also a big Stephenson fan – um, except for Quicksilver, which should have been named Visual Valium: A Trek Through Sleep – so I’m looking forward to starting Snow Crash.

4 Responses to “About to start Snow Crash”

  1. Is that in honor of the new Neal Stephenson book coming out later this year?

    http://time-blog.com/nerd_world/2008/03/the_return_of_neal_stephenson.html

    Oddly enough, I’m re-reading the whole Quicksilver trilogy right now. It was a somewhat painful read the first time around (back when it originally came out), but I’m really enjoying it much more now. I think I’m more mentally prepared for how long the narrative is, so I can enjoy the characters without being distracted every few pages with thoughts like: “Damn, look how many words he just wrote.”

  2. Gia Lyons said

    Whoa, hadn’t see he was coming out with a new book! Thanks for posting that. Actually, I’ve never read Snow Crash, and my hubs just finished it, so it’s on deck.

    Re-reading Quicksilver (and then finishing the rest of the Baroque Cycle) might be a summer project for me, taking your approach. I did something similar with The Hobbit many moons ago – slogging through the bits where Frodo acquires Sting can wear a person down – so maybe it’s time!

    Oh Newton, you tortured soul…

  3. […] I read Cryptonomicon in 2006. That was my introduction to Mr. Stphenson’s brain. I then tried to read Quicksilver, no go. Just finished Snow Crash (loved it), and I’m in the middle of The Diamond Age, […]

  4. […] read Cryptonomicon in 2006. That was my introduction to Mr. Stephenson’s brain. I then tried to read Quicksilver, no go. Just finished Snow Crash (loved it), and I’m in the middle of The Diamond Age, at the […]

Leave a Reply

 
