Connected

Do I know you?

My Neal Stephenson Tour

Posted by Gia Lyons on April 28, 2008

I read Cryptonomicon in 2006. That was my introduction to Mr. Stephenson’s brain. I then tried to read Quicksilver, no go. Just finished Snow Crash (loved it), and I’m in the middle of The Diamond Age, at the part where Hackworth has just been arrested by Constable Chang. The whole nanotechnological-Victorian thing reminds me so much of the Wild Wild West TV show (yes, I know it wasn’t set in the Victorian period).

In the book, a woman gets a nanosite tattoo known as the “Jodie.” And the protagonist is a little girl named Nell. This book was published in 1995, a year after the movie Nell, starring Jodie Foster, was released (“T’ee in the wayah!”).

Coinky-dink? Maybe.

2 Responses to “My Neal Stephenson Tour”

  1. John Smart said

    Re Diamond Age: You might be interested in The Difference Engine, cowritten by Bruce Sterling and William Gibson, which introduced me to the genre of “steampunk”. Not my favorite book, your mileage may vary.

  2. Gia Lyons said

    John, thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

 
