Connected

Do I know you?

Laundry: Childhood “punishment” to adult sanity preservation

Posted by Gia Lyons on June 22, 2008

When I was a pre-teen and pissed my Mom off, she’d “sentence” me to fold clothes for 30 minutes in the spare bedroom. That’s where we stored our family’s Mount McLaundry. See, my Mom believed in spending time doing fun things, family things. Laundry wasn’t one of them. We didn’t store clean clothes in bureaus or closets. We scaled the Mountain every few days to gather what we needed, when we needed it, much like our ancestors did, I imagine.

Me being a tad more anal than Mom, I can’t handle having unfolded laundry for very long, especially if there’s no more clean underwear in my drawer. Combine that with a love of aloneness – which is ironic, considering my passion for creating a trusting, social, corporate world someday – and suddenly, Laundry becomes an oasis.

Ok, combine that with a 4-year-old daughter who thinks “normal” is spending 16 hours straight playing with me – not her Dad, me. Gee, thanks, Grandma Lyons, for setting that impossible standard. :)

Every weekend, I look forward to escaping to the man-cave-turned-toy-storage downstairs with a glass of red and a full basket of clothes. I fold, I drink, I revel in unresponsibility. I absorb endless HGTV. It’s the equivalent of my husband watching his recorded Ultimate Fighting Championship episodes while I’m gluing some crazy family “crap” together with my daughter in another room.

When I don’t get “folding time,” I turn into a nasty version of myself. Blech. Thus, Laundry is sacrosanct in my house. I, and only I, do it. And I do it alone. With joy, and surprisingly, a little reverence. I sometimes attend our local spiritual house, but Laundry becomes my sanctuary more often than not.

What’s your regenerative habit?

6 Responses to “Laundry: Childhood “punishment” to adult sanity preservation”

  1. Angela Self said

    Gia, it isn’t the laundry for me. It is the ironing. I guess you could call that the finishing touch to the laundry. Hmmm. Kinda like theme-ing a Portal. Weird how that works. But I l-o-v-e to iron. However, unlike you I live in a small cramped apartment in the city and so there is no longer any escape in ironing. The ironing board is just an extension to the kitchen table and the kitchen table just happens to be backed up to the couch which is directly in front of the tv that generally has some xbox 360 game playing. Not E! or HGTV like I would like. Alas, until I can move out of ‘dodge’ undies and socks will just have to be worn wrinkle-y. I should just take up needlepoint again…

  2. Gia Lyons said

    I can’t picture you doing needlepoint, Angela, for some reason. :)

  3. David Daly said

    Gia, for me it’s running, for exactly the same reason. I run by myself, and I think about — nothing –. I remember thinking that exact thought about the sanctuary on random Saturday and Sunday mornings when I would run past a few churches on my route.

    Come to think of it, I haven’t been running in a couple of months (we have a 3 month old in addition to our 4 year old), and I’ve been a bit extry cranky. Hm, I need to figure this out.

  4. Gia Lyons said

    Oh wow, a new babe and a pre-schooler? Bless your heart!

  5. For me its a good book. I could get lost in a novel and stay lost till am done with it. Of course having a 4 year old does not give me much of these book times anymore but hey guess that’s part of the deal. The TV for me is an essential but not a necessity. But between the best of TV and a good book, a book would win hands down all the way.

    PS . I used to hate folding laundry but the few bachelor years I spent in Singapore got me used to doing it. So don’t really mind it anymore

  6. sexy vids said

    hmmmmm.. informative.

Leave a Reply

 
