Connected

Do I know you?

Who owns an employee blog?

Posted by Gia Lyons on July 9, 2008

When I was an IBM employee, I enjoyed writing my employee blog. I also enjoyed being the number two blogger at IBM, trailing only behind my pal, Luis Suarez (natch). I wrote about business stuff and personal stuff. It was my voice to my colleagues.

I left IBM in May 2008. I didn’t, however, leave my people network. Those relationships remain strong, although we are careful about what we discuss now, since many of us actually compete with one another in the marketplace (which I am not thrilled about, but that’s life).

Public Ownership

Public Ownership

I found out a few days ago that someone at IBM has suggested that they “take over” my internal IBM blog.

Boy, that really pissed me off.

I immediately asked Twitter what they thought. Lots of IBMers and non-IBMers chimed in. After I calmed down a bit and read a few of the responses, I decided to feel this way:

  • the blog is IBM’s
  • the content – even my personal stories – is IBM’s
  • the voice is mine

I got all Zen then, because I knew who the person was who might “take over” my IBM blog, and realized that my voice is WAY different than their’s. Also, since my IBM blog contains my name in the URL, I figured it would be interesting to see how they could even accomplish a “take over”. It would be like someone taking over my email, really.

Why do they want to take it over? Most likely for the traffic it receives. I say, start your own blog, put a redirect in front of mine. Done. Oh wait. They still need some of the content in that blog.

Anyway.

So, in retrospect, all of this is a classic example of Waffle Thinking. I’m a cog who left the wheel. Need to get a new cog (waffle square?). Fortunately, there are many IBMers who are fellow Spaghettians, and I hope they continue to encourage IBM’s ever… so… slow… culture change to include more Spaghetti Thinking.

Spaghetti Nation, FTW!

So, IBM, not that you ever need my permission to do anything, feel free to replace me. Take over my employee blog. Fart in my office chair. Use my coffee mug. Take my pens. But know that my voice will always be mine.

19 Responses to “Who owns an employee blog?”

  1. Ed Brill said

    I completely support your position on this, Gia.

    Having said that, I think this is really a case of one person in a big company making a bad judgment and having that attribute applied to the entire big company. For sure, this happens all the time, but it would be a much different thing if this had *actually happened* (meaning that others at IBM agreed with the idea and acted upon it) versus the suggestion surfacing and being squashed. As I asked you offline yesterday, I was pleased to hear that the “powers that be” were not going along with the idea… if there had been any hint otherwise, I would have thrown my voice into the mix, strongly against.

  2. Gia Lyons said

    Good point, Ed. I didn’t mean to disparage all of IBM, because I know better. Too many Spaghettians there to let something like this actually happen.

  3. Andrea said

    Besides – they’d have to break into your house to fart in your office chair! ;-)

  4. Hey Gia, this has just recently come to my attention. As of right now I’m still the BlogCentral admin and I’m the one that would have to make the change, which I don’t intend to do. I would have no problem adding a link from your old blog to the other persons new blog just so people can make the necessary connection, but I am definitely not going to allow them to take the blog over.

  5. Ken Krause said

    I think (hope?) the intent was to carry forth Gia’s leadership and not emulate Gia – which would be silly and impossible.

    I think the issue here is more of ownership of content versus “voice.” There is no doubt that the voice of the content was Gia’s – business and personal – but the whole beauty of blogs, wikis, forums, etc is to cultivate, spread and make use of the that tacit knowledge to make it explicit.

    Technically (and ethically) businesses are going to struggle with internal and external social networks. Just as they “own” your email content, instant messaging texts, possible phone texts and messages, and anything that you produce while working for them or on their dime we’ll need to define how that social capital is absorbed by the company when an employee is hit by the proverbial bus or, worse, leaves the company (gasp, egads!). We (IBM) can still benefit from the legacy of information Gia left behind.

    I feel that information should end up in a read only format – potentially scrubbed, but that gets complicated – and left until through attrition the information is dated or someone else picks up the torch (their own torch!) and blazes forward. Yet another technical/ethical challenge in this new age…

  6. Jay said

    Let them take it over and make a complete fool of themselves. Problem solved.

  7. LJ Banks said

    This is a very interesting question. When we have bloggers that leave IBM and leave their external developerWorks blogs behind (after some trial and error on this) we make every effort to allow the blogger to continue blogging. As for ownership, our policy has been (as we disclose to bloggers from day one) that blogs belong to both the blogger and IBM.
    But the internal blog question is a little trickier. I think anyone who has been at IBM for a significant amount of time has probably written pages and pages of documentation, howtos, and guidelines (at least I know I have). Most of these are specific to IBM, but they also reflect personal voice and opinions. But historically, those belong to IBM. A personal blog under one’s name and a URL that is a name — that is not necessarily 100% IBM’s. But then is it the employee’s? I’d go with the shared idea again here. Because your internal blog is a resource, I don’t want to lose access to it. But I also think it would be odd to see someone blogging under your name — that makes no sense to me considering everyone at IBM has the option to create a personal internal blog and start building a knowledge base or even just pick up where you left off (if that is possible).
    I think IBM will make the right decision here, but it just shows how this “new media” creates new challenges.

  8. Gia Lyons said

    @3 Andrea, I realized that after I posted. I suppose I meant the proverbial chair. :)

    @4 James, I figured you’d come up with the best solution. And really, that *is* the best solution – new person initially gets the traffic, old content sticks around until it is no longer useful.

    @5 Ken, not sure what was intended, but pretty sure they didn’t mean to blog in my name – that would, indeed, be silly. :)

    @6 LJ, I wonder if shared ownership really works inside the firewall. Everything I typed or thought of while at IBM is owned by IBM. Maybe this discussion isn’t about the legal ownership, but maybe more the psychic ownership.

  9. In an ideal world your last Blog entry would have been (besides or after the “leaving the ship” one). abc is taking over my responsibilities, so head over to his/her Blog at [address here]….
    Since that hadn’d been sorted out at the given time I would think it acceptable if the Blog admin adds a proper disclosed entry -or- modification of the skin and thereafter keep your Blog readonly.

    Preservation of social context is an interesting challenge. Should your profile be preserved with your new external Job details and a food note about your last IBM role?

    Good to have all these reactions
    :-) stw

  10. I’ve got to agree with you. You could simply create a link from the old blog to whoever is the “new” you. Pretty simple I would think. On the other hand what if IBM is now into genetic engineering and they actually do make a new you? What then?
    ;)kf

  11. Gia Lyons said

    @9 Stephan, I did post just that on my final entry. I listed three people to go to, including links.

  12. David Daly said

    Gia, very strange. I must admit I was confused for a bit by even the idea of taking over a blog. I follow a lot of blogs at IBM, but I follow the blogs of individuals, and I follow posts based on topics (tags). You are one of the individual’s I followed, and so I redirected my feedreader to this page when you left IBM (actually before). I have only one feed that I follow that is for an organization. It really seems meaningless to take over the name of the blog. If suspect if someone did take it over I would quickly find that either: a) I already follow that person or b) I’d soon remove the link.

    Gia, one mostly unrelated question: How do you follow followups to comments you make on external blogs? For IBM internal blogs this was trivial. Now I find myself reloading posts that I know I’ve posted to, in order to see if there are any more comments.

  13. Gia Lyons said

    @12 David, I subscribe to my blog’s comments in Google Reader – that way, I know when someone has posted a comment, and can reply if necessary.

  14. Dennis said

    The important thing is that Gia is happy.

  15. Abnormal this post is totaly unrelated to what I was looking out google for, however it was once listed on the first page. I assume your doing one thing proper if Google likes you sufficient to put you on the first page of a non comparable search.

  16. Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article post. I wanted to write
    a little comment to support you.

  17. I really like it when people get together and share views.
    Great site, continue the good work!

  18. Remarkable! Its really awesome article, I have
    got much clear idea concerning from this piece
    of writing.

  19. Hey I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really
    found you by error, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now
    and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

