Connected

Do I know you?

The nature of males

Posted by Gia Lyons on January 12, 2008

Someone sent me a very funny BBC America video about the nature of men. It would be a bit inappropriate to link to it here, but it reminded me of a conversation we had at our house recently.

In the evenings, my 3.5 year-old daughter, my husband, and I snuggle up on the couch together and watch an episode of Planet Earth. We have the HD DVD version, which is amazing. The shark breach alone is worth the price.

Anyway. Invariably, in most of the episodes, two male whatevers start fighting at some point.

My daughter: “Mommy, what are they doing?”
Me: “They’re fighting over land or a woman.”
Her: “Why?”
Me: “Because they’re boys.”
Her: “I’m glad I’m not a boy.”
Me: “Yeah. Your head would hurt, wouldn’t it.”
Her: “Yeah.”

Her: “Daddy’s a boy.”
Me: “No, Daddy’s a MAN. There’s a big difference.”
My husband: “Yeah. Honey, get me a beer.”

2 Responses to “The nature of males”

  1. Gia,

    Just hilarious :) Can’t say I’m not curious as to what the outcome of this was, but I’ll keep to my curiosity :)

  2. Gia Lyons said

    Well, he was definitely joking, I’ll tell you that. I think my eyes rolled so far back in my head that I was seeing the back of the couch, though.

Leave a comment