Connected

Do I know you?

I have a new job!

Posted by Gia Lyons on May 20, 2008

Gia Lyons has spent 8 years at IBM and up until now has been the IBM Lotus Connections Software Evangelist. This interview post serves as her notice to her colleagues about her new gig at Jive.

Read more…

57 Responses to “I have a new job!”

  1. Congrats, Gia… Now that you’ll be visiting Portland (my home base) more often, I’d love the chance to meet with you.

  2. Congrats!

  3. Congrats Gia! Please look Gayle and I up when you are in PDX. Have fun keeping Sam out of trouble.

    Best!

  4. Congrats Gia! We’re thrilled to have you on board!

  5. Again muchos Congratulations. Say hello to the Enterprise Octopus when you get there.

  6. Andrea said

    Congrats Gia! You KNOW we’ll miss you! Jive is getting one heck of a great person, let me tell you that! I have to say…please tell me you’ll still be at Lsphere so we can do that Weds. night thing again! ;-)

  7. Congratulations!

  8. Chris Almond said

    Gia – all the best to you in your new gig!
    You’ve spread your wings. Now you are gonna fly!

  9. Mark Neumann said

    Congratulations !! You will be missed big time :-( Give me a call when you get a chance. I know you will do great with your new endeavor.

  10. Paul Biggs said

    Gia – congrats! Looking forward to working with you here at Jive. It’s going to be loads of fun.

  11. Chuck Hauble said

    Congrats Gia!! Looks like a great fit for you

  12. Scott McAllister said

    Gia, you will be missed at IBM. Best of luck to you!

  13. Jerry Stowe said

    Gia – like everyone else I think, I was shocked to hear this. But, I remember I was shocked when you told me that you were in a band back in the day as well. I know that whatever life serves you, you will be a rock star, figuratively and literally.

    Congrats!

  14. Howard K Smith said

    Gia – Congratulations (sniffle). I’m so excited for you and now know that Jive will be successful with you on board. It goes with out saying that you will truly be missed and I’m so thrilled that I’m already in your ”circle” and, thus won’t miss a beat about you, your thoughts, exploits and the like. Best of luck to you and I will not be a stranger!

  15. Jonathan Feinberg said

    What the heck am I going to do with your 115 Cattail files?

    I wish you success.

  16. Congrats Gia !!!

    It’s a big surprise, but a pleasant one :-))

    Good luck !

  17. Dimitri Prosper said

    Time to change my bookmarks. Sad to see you go, good luck.

  18. New job, new theme. Best of luck, see you around the social mediaverse.

  19. adamclyde said

    Wow, Gia. This is great news for you, but we are sure going to miss you. Best of wishes, of course, and at least we can all stay connected through this and twitter and whatever else comes our way!

  20. Gia Lyons said

    Thanks for all the well wishes, everyone! I had a great time at IBM, and I’m looking forward to my next gig with Jive. I do hope you mean it when you say you’ll stay in touch!

  21. Jelan Heidelberg said

    Congratulations!! and argh!! Let’s be sure to do breakfast or lunch periodically…

  22. Gia, congratulations. IBM’s big loss is Jive’s great gain…good luck in the new (ad)venture!!!…Todd “Turbo” Watson

  23. Rooney said

    Good luck Gia….keep rockin’ and helping the social software space to swell.

  24. […] that is right. Today I found out that one of those folks who I have always felt was rather special and unique, and still is! (Very much so!) is moving along […]

  25. Mike Dudding said

    Gia, What am I going to do with all the Connections slides that have your pretty face all over them? Oh well, I guess that is my problem, now. Best of luck in your new career! You are truly an awesome person, and Jive is so fortunate to have acquired such a talented and dedicated employee.

  26. All the very best Gia! I will continue to look forward to reading your blogs and tweets! Michelle

  27. Ed Brill said

    Gia, a huge loss for IBM but a huge gain for Jive. I know you are going to be a star…again

  28. Laura Cappelletti said

    Gia,
    It’s been a pleasure working with you at IBM. Best Wishes,
    Laura

  29. Jay said

    Well done. I have to take issue with this black background though. Cheer this thing up.

  30. Gia Lyons said

    Thanks again for all the great thoughts! Jay, you’re right. this black is too severe. I’ll fix it.

  31. Jay said

    Ahh, happy place!

  32. Gia

    all the best!!

    I learned so much from you and I was contaminated by your enthusiasm. I have few words to say but I fully agree with Luis’s article.

    I wish you really all the best in this new challenge! And thanks for having taught me so many things and for having proven that the word “impossible” does not exist.

    Keep in touch !

    Best regards
    /Stefano

  33. Martha said

    Does this mean you’ll be moving to Portland? Give me a buzz if that’s a case.

  34. Joe Lokis said

    Hi Gia,

    Was in a meeting earlier this week and Sam was making the announcement that you will be joining the team here. Your reputation is sterling, it goes without saying that I am excited to meet you and happy to call you a fellow, “Jiver”.

    Welcome to the team,

    Joe

  35. Gia Lyons said

    @32: Stefano, it was a pleasure working with you, and thanks for teaching me stuff, too!

    @33: Martha, I’m staying in St. Paul, but will visit lovely Portland, OR many times, I’m sure.

    @34: Hi Joe! I’m looking forward to joining the tribe – see you in June!

  36. Congrats Gia, to you and Jive. Sounds like a fantastic win-win for both of you.

  37. Brant Zwiefel said

    ……………#$#$#! Good luck and Best Wishes at Jive! You’ll be missed…

  38. kellyd said

    Congrats, Gia! Blog Central won’t be the same without you!

  39. Congratulations, Gia! I wish you continued success and reading your thoughts about how we really communicate in electronic media!

  40. Make sure you come up to the Man Stable when you come here and say hi to us in Marketing. (or else)

  41. Gia Lyons said

    Thanks, Alan! It’s weird “talking” to you here since I “see” you every day in Twitter. :)

    Brant! Buddy! Where the hell have you been?!?

    Kelly, you and Troy will have to keep providing the hilarity. I’ll always remember you for your Velvet Elvis and rubber chicken.

    Daniel, thanks for the well wishes!

    Chris, ROTFLMAO! I have to see Sam’s hairless chest at the very least. Actually, I think I’m supposed to camp out in the Man Stable when I’m there in a coupla weeks.

  42. Craig Linke said

    Congrats! Best of luck in the new endeavor… and thanks for the education on ‘social software’.

  43. Congrats on the new job Gia. Jive looks like a great company and right now I am in the process of evaluating Jive Clearspace vs. Lotus Connections. Looking forward to a chat in the near future to get your opinions on both products.

  44. David Montgomery said

    Congratulations Gia! The Briefing Center will feel the loss to be sure!

  45. Wow Gia, you will be missed big time at IBM. Jive have just made transfer of the season.

    Good luck.

  46. Greg Mucci said

    Gia, you rock and will continue to rock! Thanks for all your help and I’m glad we were able to close some business together. Best of luck!

  47. Gia Lyons said

    Thanks Craig, John, David, Karl, and Greg! I really appreciate your warm wishes! I’ll miss working with you…

    John, feel free to email me at gia@jivesoftware.com to schedule a conversation.

  48. Cheryl Kelly said

    Yikes – huge bummer! I just got back from vacation and heard the news.

    I know we’ll always stay in touch and you know you’re the absolute bomb in my book. I wish you the best of luck at Jive and congratulations on the new opportunity.

    Hopefully I’ll see you around the virtual watercooler :-)

  49. Amy Widmer said

    Gia,

    Lots of luck for you in your new adventure! Hope we meet up again sometime in the future.

    –Amy

  50. Vittorio Cretella said

    Hi Gia,

    good luck with th emove…… we met in Palisade not long time ago for a customer debrief. I would like to keep in touch and also hear about Jive. I am going to be in Boston in 2 weeks for Enterprise 2.0, will you be there? I look forward to speaking with you soon.

  51. Gia Lyons said

    Hi Vittorio. Yes, I remember you! I will be at E2.0 starting Jun 10. I’ll be working the Jive booth on Jun 11. Please stop by – I’d love to talk to you about what’s coming in Clearspace 2.1!

  52. Laurie Belmer said

    Gia,

    I was on the phone with one of my favorite IBM’er JF and he told me your news. I had to check out the Jive website and there you were. I echo everyone else in saying…..IBM’s loss is definately Jives gain…. I hope our paths will continue to cross…. You are the best at what you do!!! You Go Girl!!

  53. Gia Lyons said

    Laurie! Thanks so much! I do hope we see each other again! Give JF a squeeze for me. :)

  54. […] have great momentum in the marketplace and are attracting top talent from IBM and other competitors. These people are excited by the opportunity to innovate in an open […]

  55. ayvtxiveba said

    [url=http://wso2.org/wiki/display/~durangom]Tramadol Online[/url] [url=http://wso2.org/wiki/display/~veratukl]cash on delivery tramadol[/url] [url=http://fans.wwe.com/vepolastisk/blog/2010/05/15/ambien_no_prescription_overnight]ambien no prescription[/url] [url=http://wso2.org/wiki/display/~dekumerf]phentermine without rx[/url] [url=http://fans.wwe.com/vepolastisk/blog/2010/05/15/tramadol_no_prescription_overnight]tramadol no prescription[/url] [url=http://wso2.org/wiki/display/~bradveras]Ambien without rx[/url] [url=http://guestbooks.pathfinder.gr/read/decckumer]Soma cash on delivery[/url]

  56. Woah this web site is actually superb i adore examining you. Keep up to date the good operate! You’re certain, a lot of people are seeking game in this info, you could potentially enable them to considerably.

  57. Visit: http://Plans7.com

Leave a comment